Malaysian general election, 2013

From Malaysia Factbook

Jump to: search
"The Barisan Nasional secured only 47% of the popular vote, compared to the Opposition's 51%. It ranked as the worst showing by the BN since independence in 1957."  —  The Edge [1]
The August 2013 Merdeka Centre study confirms the rural and urban divide in Malaysia, as well as the 20% swing of Chinese voters away from the ruling Barisan Nasional.[2]
Surveys done by Malaysian intelligence agencies said that the ruling Barisan Nasional coalition is only sure of 135 seats, 5 below the 140 won in Election 2008. (9 March 2013) [3]
2013 general election results
Bagaimana UMNO-BN akan menang Pilihanraya
(Uploaded by TzEwei9100 on 13 January 2013)
Inside Story : Malaysia's election scandals
(Uploaded by AlJazeeraEnglish on 7 May 2013)
This is Malaysiakini's forecast of grey seats in the 13th general elections. "Grey seats" are seats that can go either way, i.e. to Barisan Nasional or to Pakatan Rakyat.

The 13th Malaysian general election was held on 5 May 2013, following the dissolution of Parliament announced by Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak on 3 April, following years of speculation, ever since 9 April 2009, when Najib took over the post of Prime Minister.

Barisan Nasional (BN) had officially lost the popular vote at both the federal and state levels in the general elections, despite winning 133 parliamentary seats and retaking Kedah.[4] Its number of marginal seats rose by a quarter from 63 seats in the 2008 general elections to 80 seats.[5] (Marginal seats are seats where the margin of victory is less than 5%.) Barisan Nasional was also bested on the popularity front for the first time since 1969, when it had contested as the Alliance Party. For the federal seats, BN polled 5,237,699 votes to the Pakatan Rakyat (PR) parties' combined 5,623,984 ballots. The 3-party pact also surpassed BN in state seats, pulling in 4,879,699 to the 13-member coalition’s 4,513,997 ballots. Official turnout for the elections was 84.84% or 11,257,147 voters.[4]

The numbers paint a growing gulf forming within the Malaysian public, with the Malay heartland that swung back to BN on the one hand, and a multiracial bloc that threw its support behind the PR parties on the other. Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak suggested a "Chinese tsunami" was behind BN ceding more ground to the opposition in an electoral showing that was worse than the previous low of 2008.

"I think they were taken in by some of the undertakings given by the opposition... and that's why there was that swing.... and a lot of sentiments there, some of them racial in nature, that were being played up in this election, which is not very healthy for this country", Najib told reporters at the UMNO headquarters, shortly after a simple majority victory cemented BN's place in Putrajaya. "I expected it but I did not expect it to this extent. None of us expected it to this extent. But despite the extent of the swing against us, BN did not fall", he added.

But critics and rivals have rejected BN's narrative of a "Chinese tsunami", pointing instead to a separation founded on class. "Intra-ethnic inequality is startlingly high. There has been a lot of disproportionate access [to economic privileges] by the few", Meredith Weiss, an associate professor at the State University of New York, told the Financial Times in remarks published on 6 May.[4] "The underlining trend seems to be that interests are defined now by socioeconomic class, rather than ethnicity."

Former NSTP editor-in-chief Datuk A. Kadir Jasin also said BN's reversal was likely the result of a "Malaysian tsunami", rather than a Chinese one.

Election Results

The Barisan Nasional (BN) won a simple majority of 133 seats against Pakatan Rakyat's 89. Pakatan Rakyat also lost Kedah but won by a two-thirds majority in the 3 states that it has retained


The Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) suffered its worst defeat in its history - winning 6 parliamentary and 10 state seats out of the 37 parliamentary and 90 state seats that it contested. It also meant that MCA lost more than 50% of the seats that it had won in the 2008 general election. Gerakan was left with just one seat: Simpang Renggam in Johor.

The Democratic Action Party (DAP) was the biggest winners, gaining 10 seats overall, while both PKR and PAS lost one and two seats respectively, compared to the 2008 general elections:

  • DAP: 38
  • PKR: 30
  • PAS: 21.

Pakatan Rakyat (PR) also made significant inroads into Johor, traditionally considered to be the "Fortress of UMNO", winning 5 parliamentary seats and 18 state seats, a big jump from its' previous count of one parliamentary seat and 6 state seats.

State Barisan
Nasional (BN)
Rakyat (PR)
Johor (56) 38 18 0
Kedah (36) 21 15 0
Kelantan (45) 12 33 0
Melaka (28) 21 7 0
N. Sembilan (36) 22 14 0
Pahang (42) 30 12 0
Penang (40) 10 30 0
Perak (59) 31 28 0
Perlis (15) 13 2 0
Sabah (60) 42 18 0
Selangor (56) 18 38 0
Terengganu (32) 17 15 0
505 275 230 0

See also:

External links

Flag of Malaysia Elections in Malaysia