From Malaysia Factbook

Jump to: search

Location of Selangor

Selangor is the most developed of the 13 states of Malaysia, with an area of 7,956 square kilometers and a population of 7.2 million in 2007. Shah Alam is the state capital while the royal capital is at Klang. The Arabic honorific of the state is Darul Ehsan ("Abode of Sincerity").

Its ethnic composition comprises 52.9% Malays, 27.8% Chinese, 13.3% Indians, and 6% others.[1]

2.  Geography: Located on the west coast of Peninsular Malaysia, Selangor is bordered by:


It completely surrounds the federal territories of Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya. Administratively, Selangor is divided into 9 districts, namely:

  1. Sabak Bernam;
  2. Kuala Selangor;
  3. Hulu Selangor;
  4. Gombak;
  5. Klang, along with Port Klang (formerly known as Port Swettenham);
  6. Petaling;
  7. Hulu Langat;
  8. Kuala Langat; and
  9. Sepang, where the Kuala Lumpur International Airport is located.

3.  History: In the 15th century, Selangor was ruled by the Sultanate of Malacca. After the fall of Melaka the Portuguese in 1511, the area became hotly disputed between the Portuguese, Johor, Aceh and Siam. When the Dutch displaced the Portuguese from Melaka in 1641, they brought in Bugis mercenaries from Sulawesi, who eventually established the present sultanate in 1740. In many districts, Bugis settlers displaced the Minangkabau settlers from Sumatra, who had established themselves in Selangor some 100 years previously. In the 19th century, the economy boomed due to the exploitation of huge tin reserves and the growing importance of rubber. This attracted a large influx of Chinese migrants. Chinese secret clan societies, allied with Selangor chiefs, fought for control of the tin mines, and the increasing violence created social and economic havoc. It also opened a window of opportunity for the British, who forced the Sultan of Selangor to accept a British Resident in 1874. Under the stability imposed by the British, Selangor again prospered. In 1896, Selangor was united with Negeri Sembilan, Perak and Pahang to form the Federated Malay States. The Federated Malay States evolved into the Federation of Malaya in 1948 and the Federation of Malaysia in 1963. In 1970, Selangor relinquished the city of Kuala Lumpur to the federal government and in 1995, Putrajaya became a federal territory.

4.  Economy: Selangor is the richest state in Malaysia in terms of gross domestic product (GDP) and second richest in terms of GDP per capita (at RM18,157 or US$4,907), behind Penang. Its economy is well-diversified into agriculture, industry, commerce, and tourism. Though rubber, oil palm, and tin mining are the core of the state's economy, the development of Port Klang and the rapidly expanding industrial areas are increasingly contributing towards the prosperity of the state. Tourism is also beginning to have a major impact on the economy and Selangor is in the process of developing its many attractions, both natural and man-made.  more... at Chronology